News & Resources

In the Montgomery County Medical Society

MCMS Members Well-Represented at the OSMA Annual Meeting

Montgomery County Medical Society Provided by MCMS Administration

The OSMA 2024 Annual Meeting was conducted this past weekend in Columbus. MCMS and OSMA District Two were well represented by dedicated physician members who deliberated over 36 proposed Resolutions. Thanks go out to the following who gave their voluntary time and talent to participate in the 2024 OSMA Annual Meeting: District Two Councilor Shannon Trotter, DO; Young Physician Section Councilor Alisha Reiss, MD; OSMA Councilor at Large John Corker, MD; and District Two Delegates: Vas Appalaneni, MD; Asheesh Bothra, MD; John Crankshaw, MD; Margaret Dunn, MD; Lisa Egbert, MD; Tarsem Garg, MD; David Griffith, MD; Stephen House, MD; A Patrick Jonas, MD; Deepak Kumar, MD; Gary Lau, MD; Samip Parikh, MD; Jeff Studebaker, MD.

In preparation for this meeting, the delegation members first caucus to discuss issues relevant to physicians in this regional area and formulate resolutions to put forth; the second virtual caucus is spent reviewing each of the proposed resolutions from across the state and offer commentary in an online discussion forum. Finally, the weekend of the Annual Meeting brings the group together on Saturday to discuss with the entire House of Delegates (HOD) in open committee meetings all of the Resolutions proposed. The Resolution committees finalize their reports and the HOD meets again on Sunday to offer final discussion and vote on whether to Adopt, Amend, Not Adopt or Refer. This year a broad array of topics were discussed. The final report of Resolutions will soon be posted on the OSMA website at

Participating in this activity offers all OSMA member physicians the the opportunity to have their voice heard in developing policy for healthcare issues in Ohio. If you are interested in being part of this activity, please let us know. The profession of medicine must be pro-active in safeguarding the rights and privileges of being a physician and protecting Ohio’s patients.

Congratulations to these physicians shown below who were successful in their election efforts to serve in the American Medical Association House of Delegates.

Deepak Kumar, MD, Re-elected Ohio Delegate to the AMA
Alisha Reiss, MD, Re-elected Ohio Delegate to the AMA
Asheesh Bothra, MD, Elected Ohio Alternate Delegate to the AMA
Samip Parikh, MD, Elected Ohio Alternate Delegate to the AMA

John Corker, MD, provided Nominating Speech for OSMA President-Elect John Bastulli, MD