News & Resources

In the Montgomery County Medical Society

WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine Academy of Medicine 2024 Annual Meeting – April 9, 2024

Montgomery County Medical Society Provided by MCMS Administration

The WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine Academy of Medicine Annual Meeting will be held on Tuesday, April 9, 2024 at 5:30-8:30 PM at the Eichelberger Pavilion (Carillon Park) 1000 Carillon Blvd, Dayton OH 45409.

This year’s Guest Speaker is Drew Burleson, MD. Dr. Drew Burleson,’12, is a fellowship-trained Orthopaedic Surgeon specializing in sports medicine and minimally invasive arthroscopic surgery of the knee, hip, shoulder, and elbow. He also has a special interest in employing state-of-the-art techniques in cartilage restoration and biologics to improve his patients’ function and return them to the activities that they love.

After growing up in Wheelersburg, Ohio, Dr. Burleson earned his undergraduate degree from Wright State University, where he was a member of the men’s basketball team. He was a four-year starter and three-time captain and helped lead the Raiders to a regular season and Horizon League conference tournament championship in 2007, earning the Raiders a trip to the NCAA tournament. Dr. Burleson graduated from medical school at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in 2012 and completed his residency in orthopaedic surgery at Loyola University of Chicago.

Dr. Burleson completed his fellowship in orthopaedic sports medicine at the renowned Kerlan-Jobe Orthopaedic Clinic in Los Angeles where he cared for some of the world’s most elite athletes. While at Kerlan-Jobe, Dr. Burleson served as the assistant team physician for the Los Angeles Rams, Dodgers, Kings, Clippers, Galaxy, Sparks, Anaheim Ducks and Angels, University of Southern California (USC) football team, and Loyola Marymount University.  In addition to his regular office hours, Dr. Burleson also practices as an Assistant Team Physician for the Cincinnati Reds.

Register here for this event. This is the link to join the Academy of Medicine: Wright State University · GiveCampus